GLCHL Champion ACHAMD1 Adrian Bulldogs Dominate All-Conference Awards

GLCHL Champion ACHAMD1 Adrian Bulldogs Dominate All-Conference Awards

UNION LAKE, Mich.--After repeating regular-season and tournament championships, the Adrian College American Collegiate Hockey Association Division 1 men's program dominated the 2018-19 Great Lakes Collegiate Hockey League postseason awards that the GLCHL office announced on Tuesday. Bulldogs bench boss Gary Astalos was named the GLCHL Coach of the Year for the third time in his three years at the helm, while freshman forward Brenden Stanko earned the conference's rookie of the year award and junior goaltender Michael Barrett was selected the GLCHL Tournament Most Valuable Player.

Making the all-league first team were Barrett, junior defenseman J.P. Grineau and junior forward Joe Costello. Junior forward Rainer Glimpel placed on the second unit. Three Bulldogs freshmen were tabbed to the GLCHL All-Rookie Team, including Stanko, defenseman Dante Raposo and forward Manny Silverio. In addition, senior forward captain Justin Fisher received GLCHL All-Defensive Team honors.

"While I am very happy for our student-athletes who work very hard and were selected to the all-league teams," Astalos says, "I think it is safe to say our team success is directly related to how deep of a roster we have. I am bias, of course, but I feel our entire roster deserves a league individual award as we have such a hardworking group in our locker room. I know we are all looking forward to the national tournament this week."

Barrett posted a 24-2 record with a 2.25 goals-against average and .925 save percentage in 1575 minutes and 19 seconds between the pipes, but was even more stellar during the conference tournament run when he stopped 41 of 43 shots in the semifinals and championship game. Costello led the 32-2 Bulldogs in goals (25), assists (29) and total points (54) in 34 contests, tying for the team high with eight power-play markers and three game-winning tallies. Grineau was AC's second-leading scorer on the blueline with 29 points and he was the team's third-best playmaker with 26 assists, while helping a defensive unit allow just 67 goals. Glimpel was AC's second-leading scorer with 20+21=41 totals. Stanko led Bulldog freshmen with 15 goals, 23 assists and 38 points--fourth on the team in scoring. Silverio pumped in 14+19=33 scoring totals, while Raposo went 7+19=26 in 29 contests. Fisher tallied 15+13=28 while playing all 34 games and helping the Bulldogs rank fourth ACHMD1 fewest goals allowed (68) leading into Nationals.

Astalos has guided the program to three GLCHL regular-season crowns, back-to-back conference tournament championships and a 44-1 (.978) conference record. He is 99-6 overall (.943) at the school going into the ACHA Division I Tournament this weekend in Frisco, Texas, where the third-ranked Bulldogs look to defend their 2018 national championship. 

Tournament Most Valuable Player: Goalie #30 Michael Barrett Adrian College

Most Valuable Player: Forward #89 Alex Hulford Davenport University

Coach-of-the-Year: Gary Astalos Adrian College

Rookie-of-the-Year: Forward #15 Brenden Stanko Adrian College

The Sportsmanship Award: Defense #28 Mike Sullivan Kent State University

1st Team All-League
Goalie #30 Michael Barrett Adrian College
Defense #4 J.P. Grineau Adrian College
Defense #24 Adam Goudelock Davenport University
Forward #89 Alex Hulford Davenport University
Forward #14 Jon Buttitta Kent State University
Forward #26 Joe Costello Adrian College

2nd Team All-League
Goalie #31 Alex Okicki Kent State University
Defense #16 Gino Mini Oakland University
Defense #28 Mike Sullivan Kent State University
Forward #27 Wyatt Ford Western Michigan University
Forward #14 Rainer Glimpel Adrian College
Forward #25 Austin Thompson Davenport University

All-Rookie Team
Goalie #33 Alex Hufford Western Michigan University
Defense #20 Dante Raposo Adrian College
Defense #10 Justin Bioni Kent State University
Forward #15 Brenden Stanko Adrian College
Forward #8 Manny Silverio Adrian College
Forward #12 Billy Mihelich Rochester College

All-Defensive Team
Forward #24 Justin Fisher Adrian College
Forward #13 Chance Taylor Kent State University
Forward #44 Shawn Adam Rochester College
Defense #24 Adam Goudelock Davenport University
Forward #14 Ian Thompson Davenport University
Forward #55 Christian Sana Western Michigan University

#CommitToExcellence #GoDawgs #BulldogProud