Adrian College Draw St. Thomas-Minn. in First Game of NCAA Baseball Midwest Regional at UW-Whitewater

Photo by Mike Dickie.
Photo by Mike Dickie.

NCAA Championship release l Brackets l Host UWW Site l NCAA Baseball l Championship Records

INDIANAPOLIS —The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the 56 teams that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association tournament champion Adrian College will play St. Thomas (Minn.) in the opening round of the Midwest Region hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater from Thursday through Sunday. The Bulldogs are the No. 3 seed while the Tommies are No. 6. The host UWW Warhawks are seeded No. 1. The rest of the regional field includes No. 2 Concordia Chicago, No. 4 St. Scholastica, No. 5 Wisconsin-La Crosse, No. 7 Macalester and No. 8 St. Norbert.

On Thursday, Adrian and St. Thomas will square off at 5:30 p.m. Eastern (4:30 p.m. Central Time) at 400-seat Prucha Field at Miller Stadium in Whitewater, Wis. Ticket prices are $6 for adults and $3 Seniors/students/children, and the front gates will open 1 hour and 45 minutes prior to the start of the first game each day.

The Bulldogs, who are 33-11 on the season after capturing their fifth MIAA tournament title since the event began in 2012, will be making their 11th appearance (first since 2015) to the NCAA Championship. Adrian is 17-21 all-time in the NCAAs and had its highest finish of fourth-place at the 2008 Division III World Series.

St. Thomas is 66-40 in 20 previous NCAA trips and has two national championships in its history. 

Six teams will compete at four regional sites and eight teams will compete at four regional sites. All regionals will use a double-elimination format. Forty-one conference champions qualified automatically.

Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wis., on Friday-Tuesday/Wednesday, May 26-30/31, 2017.

#AdrianBulldogs #GoDawgs #BulldogProud

(Note: This release was updated at 5:05 p.m. EDT to reflect game time and ticket information.)