@ACBulldogHockey Receives Bye to National Quarterfinals as NCAA Announces Championship Field

@ACBulldogHockey Receives Bye to National Quarterfinals as NCAA Announces Championship Field

NCAA bracket ll Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS--Adrian College will serve as the host institution when the men's hockey team will play UW-Stevens Point in the national quarterfinals of the 2016 NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, which includes an 11-team field, as announced on Monday by the Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Committee.

Adrian is making its fourth NCAA tournament appearance in a row and sixth overall since it began play during the 2007-08 season. The Bulldogs made the semifinals last season and were the 2011 national runner-up.

Both the Bulldogs--who are nationally ranked No. 1 by USCHO.com (300 points, 20 1st-place votes) and D3hockey.com (299, 19)--and the Pointers (No. 3 USCHO, No. 3 D3hockey), received a first-round bye and will meet on Saturday, March 19, in the quarterfinal round. Game and ticket information to be announced at a later time, so stay tuned to AdrianBulldogs.com.

The two teams split their regular-season series, with each winning on home ice. Adrian struck first with a 3-2 victory at Arrington Ice Arena on Nov. 28. UWSP then took a 6-4 victory in Stevens Point on Feb. 5. The all-time series is also even with four wins apiece.

Seven conferences have been awarded an automatic qualification. The remaining four teams were selected at-large by the committee.

The championship playoff format involves three first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions. All games in the championship are single elimination. The four quarterfinal winners will advance to Lake Placid, New York, at Herb Brooks Arena for the semifinal and championship games, which will be conducted March 25-26. Plattsburgh State University of New York and the Olympic Regional Development Authority will host the championship.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are:

Northern Collegiate Hockey Association: Adrian College (24-3-1)

ECAC DIII Northeast Hockey League: Salve Regina University (17-10-1)

Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference: Salem State University (22-5-0)

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Augsburg College (17-8-2)

New England Hockey Conference: University of Massachusetts Boston (21-4-3)

New England Small College Athletic Conference: Trinity College (Connecticut) (21-5-1)

State University of New York Athletic Conference: State University of New York at Geneseo (18- 4-6)

Hobart College (21-4-2), St. Norbert College (23-3-2), Williams College (18-5-2) and the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (21-5-1) enter the field as the four at-large selections.

The semifinal and championship games will be web streamed live on NCAA.com.

In 2015, Trinity College claimed its first title with a 5-2 win over UW-Stevens Point at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis.


(Editor's note: NCAA.com contributed to this news release.)