@ACBulldogHockey Gains NCAA Division III At-Large Bid and First-Round Bye; Travels to UWSP

@ACBulldogHockey Gains NCAA Division III At-Large Bid and First-Round Bye; Travels to UWSP

NCAA releasePrintable Bracket (PDF) l Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Committee announced Monday the field of 12 teams for the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. The Adrian College Bulldogs have garnered one of the five at-large (Pool C) bids that were available.

Adrian received a first-round bye and will travel to the University of Wisconsin at Stevens Point on Saturday, March 18, for the NCAA Quarterfinals. Game time is scheduled for 8 p.m. Eastern/7 p.m. Central. Ticket information to be announced at a later date. The two teams met three times during the regular season with each winning a game and there was a tie.

The Bulldogs (19-6-2 overall) will be making their fifth consecutive appearance to the Big Dance and seventh overall since the program started for the 2007-08 campaign. Adrian was the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association Harris Cup runner-up after earning its ninth-regular season title.

Adrian is led by a trio of 30-point scorers in sophomore defenseman Cory Dunn (8+26=34), junior left wing Kyle Brothers (8+25=33) and sophomore left wing Trevor Boyd (16+16=32). Freshman forward Vincent Paquette is on the verge of the 30-point plateau with 14+15=29 scoring totals. Sophomore goalie Kevin Entmaa is 14-6-2 with a 2.14 goals-against average and .914 save percentage.

The UWSP Pointers (21-4-3) are appearing in their 13th NCAA Tournament and are the defending Division III national champions. UWSP earned the lone Pool B selection coming from a conference (or playing as an independent) that does not possess a Pool A, automatic berth, the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Senior Lawrence Cornellier paces the Pointers with 24 goals and 42 points, followed by classmates Jacob Barber (17+21=38) and Kyle Sharkey (8+23=31). Junior netminder Max Milosek (18-3-3) owns a 2.19 GAA and .907 save percentage.

The championship playoff format involves four first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions. All games in the championship are single elimination.  The four quarterfinal winners will advance to Utica, New York, at the Utica Memorial Auditorium for the semifinal and championship games, which will be conducted March 24-25.  Utica College will host the championship.

Adrian, Hamilton College (19-4-4), Hobart College (20-4-4), Oswego State (21-5-1) and UWSP enter the field as the five at-large selections.

The semifinal and championship games will be web streamed live on NCAA.com. 

In 2016, UWSP claimed its fifth NCAA title with a 5-1 win over St. Norbert College at Herb Brooks Ice Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y.

For more information about the 2017 Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship, log on to NCAA.com.

#10thSeasonAnniversary #AdrianBulldogs #GoDawgs #GDTBAB