Hall of Fame 2019 Feature: First Four-Year Recruiting Class Sets the Gold Standard of Bulldog Hockey

Pictured, clockwise, the 2011, 2009 and 2010 Bulldog men's hockey teams will be inducted into the 50th anniversary of the Adrian College Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday. (Photos: Adrian SID archives; graphic: Patrick Stewart)
Pictured, clockwise, the 2011, 2009 and 2010 Bulldog men's hockey teams will be inducted into the 50th anniversary of the Adrian College Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday. (Photos: Adrian SID archives; graphic: Patrick Stewart)

ADRIAN, Mich.--The Adrian College Athletic Department, in conjunction with the Office of Alumni Relations, will induct the 2019 class of the Adrian Bulldogs Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday as part of Homecoming activities. The ceremonial dinner will be held at 6 p.m. in the Tobias Center of Ritchie Hall, preceded by the Walk of Fame (5:15 p.m.) from the Caine Center and reception (5:30 p.m.).

Celebrating its golden anniversary of honoring former Bulldog greats for 50 years, the Hall was established in 1969 to recognize former athletes and coaches who have distinguished themselves in the field of intercollegiate athletics at Adrian College either by their performance on athletic teams during their undergraduate years, by their strong leadership in their profession, or their meritorious efforts on behalf of the athletic program at the College.

This year's honorees include Jim Nowaske '83 (football), Lisa Scheid Wallbaum '91 (field hockey, softball), Jeff Nokovich '07 (baseball, basketball), Krissy Leigh Sheets Kisov '09 (softball) and today's Hall of Fame feature the Bulldog men's hockey teams of 2009, 2010 and 2011.

The first four-year graduating class in program history amassed staggering records of 102-12-2 overall (.888) and 77-2-1 conference mark (.969) along with four first-place conference finishes in the Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association and two NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship berths. Most of the Bulldogs record book is still led by student-athletes from this era, and two former players, Adam Krug and Shawn Skelly, are now the head coaches of the men's and women's teams, respectively, at their alma mater. Several players went on to professional hockey careers. These three teams also join the first group from the 2007-08 season (2017 inductees) for inclusion into the Adrian Athletics Hall of Fame.

2008-09 NCAA men's hockey team (Head Coach: Ron Fogarty; Captain: Quinn Waller)

In just their second year of existence, the Bulldogs raced through the MCHA schedule with a 20-0 mark en route to finishing 27-1-1 overall for the best record (.948) in the nation at any NCAA level and led all Divisions with a 26-game unbeaten streak while outscoring opponents 175 to 35 during that stretch. The 27 wins also were a school record as well as 15 home victories (15-1).

Adrian defeated eventual national champion Neumann by a 10-1 score on Nov. 2 – one of five double-digit scoring games on the season for the second-year Bulldogs.

Adrian tied a school record set by the inaugural team just the season before with 70 power-play goals, leading Division III in power-play efficiency at 35.9 percent. The Bulldogs also were NCAA statistical champions in scoring offense (6.52 goals per game), scoring margin (+4.83), individual goals (Shawn Skelly – 30), individual points (Skelly – 65), individual power-play goals (Skelly – 20), goalie wins (Brad Fogal– 25-1-1, .944),

The Bulldogs produced six MCHA all-conference standouts, including the 2009 Player of the Year (Shawn Skelly) and Coach of the Year (Ron Fogarty), as well as a MCHA-record 16 academic all-conference performers. Other all-conference members were senior forward Adam Krug, sophomore forward Eric Miller, sophomore defensemen Chris Stansik, Quinn Waller and sophomore goalie Brad Fogal.

2009-10 NCAA men's hockey team (Head Coach: Ron Fogarty; Captains: Quinn Waller, Mike Towns)

Juniors Mike Dahlinger, a forward, and Chris Stansik, a defenseman, both were named to the American Hockey Coaches Association/CCM All-America Second Team to headline a Bulldogs team that sported records of 24-4 overall and 20-0 in league play. Dahlinger led Division III with 54 points and 41 assists while Stansik led national blueliners with 38 total points.

Freshman forward Zach Graham led Division III rookies with 29 assists and 45 total points to place on the MCHA All-Rookie Team.

Adrian swept the MCHA regular-season and tournament titles for the third year in a row and made its first NCAA Tournament appearance in the process.

The Bulldogs boasted six all-conference honorees –  MCHA Player of the Year Dahlinger, junior forwards Sam Kuzyk, Shawn Skelly, junior defensemen Jeremy Klaver, Chris Stansik and junior goalie Brad Fogal – as well as 13 academic all-conference standouts.

The Bulldogs won their first 10 games and ended the regular season on a 12-game win streak en route to setting school records for assists per game (11.89), shots per game (43.61) while outscoring the opposition 188 to 66.

For the second year in a row, Adrian led the nation in scoring offense with 6.71 goals per game and scoring margin (4.25). The power-play unit also ranked second at 29.9 percent, but led the country with 46 goals on the man-advantage. The Bulldogs also were the national statistical champion in penalty-kill at 90.5 percent.

2010-11 NCAA men's hockey team (Head Coach: Ron Fogarty; Captain: Mike Towns)

Senior forward Shawn Skelly became the first AHCA/CCM first-team All-American in program history after racking up 21 goals and 27 assists for 48 points. He was third in the nation in total points and tied for eighth with nine power-play tallies.

The team finished with records of 25-4-1 overall and 18-1-1 in the MCHA, including conference regular-season and tournament sweeps and a runner-up finish in the NCAA Tournament. Adrian tied national champion St. Norbert for the most wins (25) and the best record (.850, 25-4-1) in Division III, but the Green Knights edged the Bulldogs, 4-3, in Minneapolis in the final game.

For the third-straight season, the offense paced the nation with 4.97 goals per game and a 2.73 scoring margin. And for the second time in three years, the power-play eclipsed the 30.0 percent mark at 30.1 with 46 goals in 153 extra-man chances.

Adrian enjoyed an 18-game unbeaten streak (17-0-1) –  in which it allowed more than three goals just once during that stretch – heading into the SNC showdown. The 'Dogs were 6-2-1 versus nationally-ranked teams, outscoring those opponents 33-22. AC defeated No. 6 Elmira, 5-3, and No. 3 Oswego by the identical score to reach the title contest.

Five skaters and a goalie were tabbed All-MCHA: senior forwards Mike Dahlinger, Eric Miller, Skelly; senior blueliners Jeremy Klaver, Quinn Waller; and senior goalie Brad Fogal. In addition, 15 Bulldogs claimed academic all-conference honors.

#ACHomecoming19 #GoDawgs #BulldogProud