Bulldogs Make School History Again With Four 2016 All-MIAA Team Honorees

Bulldogs Make School History Again With Four 2016 All-MIAA Team Honorees

FREELAND, Mich. - The Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association has announced the All-MIAA awards for the 2016 men's soccer season.

The Adrian College men's soccer team had four athletes named to one of the two All-MIAA teams this season. Sophomores Brandon Katona and Chris Stanhope were both named First Team All-MIAA, sophomore Tad Davis, and junior Sean Cain were both placed on the second team.

Katona (Dearborn, Mich.) led the Bulldogs in scoring with 16 points (7,2). His seven goals were tied for fourth-highest in the MIAA. Four of his goals were game-winners this year as Katona was instrumental in this season's team being the most successful in program history. He was named MIAA men's soccer offensive player of the week once this season.

Stanhope (Dearborn, Mich.) helped anchor an Adrian back line that allowed the third-lowest goals-against average of 0.89 for the season. He also scored five points for the season (2,1), tied for fifth-most on the team. The sophomore defender was named MIAA men's soccer defensive player of the week once this season.

Davis (Trenton, Mich.) was the second-highest scorer on the Bulldogs with 12 points (5,2). Davis was a big contributor to the offensive success of Adrian as the Bulldogs finished by scoring and average of 1.74 goals per game, second-most in the league.

Cain (Northville, Mich.) was another integral part of the Adrian defensive success for the season. He finished the season with three points (1,1). The junior was also one of the team captains for the 2016 season.

The complete list of MIAA Awards is as follows:

First Team

F – Cal Kirchen, Kalamazoo

F – Mitch Stark, Calvin

F – Jacob Witte, Calvin

M – Kyle Hernandez, Kalamazoo

M – Stephan Hooker, Calvin

M – Brandon Katona, Adrian

M – Isky Van Doorne, Calvin

D – Matt Hinds, Calvin

D – Kyle Kansman, Alma

D – Chris Stanhope, Adrian

D – Trent Vegter, Calvin

GK – Nate Van Ryn, Calvin


MVP: Stephan Hooker, Calvin

Newcomer of the Year: Ian Adams, Calvin

Zuidema Award: Thomas Conerty, Hope

Second team

F – Noah Canlas, Alma

F – Tad Davis, Adrian

F – Bobby McCaw, Calvin

M – Ian Adams, Calvin

M – Austin Gabris, Alma

M – Joshua Robison, Kalamazoo

M – David Waterson, Calvin

D – Sean Cain, Adrian

D – Sam Falardeau, Alma

D – Lucas Foust, Alma

D – Jay Noyola, Calvin

GK – Nick Strait, Alma

Alma Scoots By Adrian 1-0
October 5, 2016 Alma Scoots By Adrian 1-0
Britons Outlast Bulldogs
September 21, 2016 Britons Outlast Bulldogs
Bulldogs Fall at Muskingum
September 4, 2016 Bulldogs Fall at Muskingum