Five Bulldog Men's Soccer Receive MIAA Awards

Five Bulldog Men's Soccer Receive MIAA Awards

FREELAND, Mich. - The Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) office announced the 2017 All-MIAA Men's Soccer Teams today. Senior Sean Cain received the Marv Zuidema Award, freshmen Jordan Miller and Justin Tobin earned first team honors, and juniors Tad Davis and Brandon Katona were chosen to the second team.

Cain was this year's recipient of the Marv Zuidema Award. This award is granted to a senior who has contributed to team play, leadership qualities, demonstration of ethical virtues, and excellence in athletics and academics.

The Bulldogs have never had a freshman chosen first team all-conference, this season Adrian had two selected for the honor: Jordan Miller and Justin Tobin.

Miller finished fourth on the team in points with eight (3g,2a). Two of his three goals were game-winners including the goal that beat Olivet 2-1 with only three seconds remaining in the first overtime.

Tobin, a defender, scored the game-winning goal in a 2-1 win over Kalamazoo on September 16. He was also named MIAA player of the week for his performance. He has also been a big factor in the Bulldog defense's five shutout victories this season, four of which were against conference opponents.

Leading scorer Tad Davis, 12 points (3g,6a), was selected to the second team for the second consecutive season. He leads the team in assists with six--that mark is currently fifth in the MIAA.

Brandon Katona was also selected to the second team this year. This is his second straight season of receiving conference accolades as he was chosen to the first team a season ago. He is currently tied for the second-highest point total on the team with nine (4g,1a) and is the team leader in goals.

Adrian will host Hope on Wednesday, November 1 at 7:00 p.m., ET in the semifinal round of the MIAA Tournament.


Most Valuable Player – Trent Vegter, Calvin
Newcomer of the Year – Ryan Melgar, Kalamazoo
Marv Zuidema Award – Sean Cain, Adrian

All-MIAA First Team
F – Bobby McCaw, Calvin
F – Jordan Miller, Adrian
F – Jacob Witte, Calvin
MF – Isaac Braak, Hope
MF – Jacob Lyon, Calvin
MF – Ryan Melgar, Kalamazoo
MF – Hunter Olson, Calvin
D – Trent Vegter, Calvin
D – Matt Hinds, Calvin
D – Francisco Noyola, Calvin
D – Justin Tobin, Adrian
GK – Nate Van Ryn, Calvin

All-MIAA Second Team
F – Thomas Bryant, Kalamazoo
F – Christian Dault, Hope
F – Mitch Stark, Calvin
MF – Tad Davis, Adrian
MF – Brandon Katona, Adrian
MF – Nick Kraeuter, Kalamazoo
MF – Dillon Weldy, Calvin
D – Sam Allbritten, Hope
D – James Reymann, Hope
D – Sam Falardeau, Alma
D – Vince Geremia, Olivet
GK – Griffin Hamel, Kalamazoo

Bulldogs Win 1-0 on the Road
October 21, 2017 Bulldogs Win 1-0 on the Road
Bulldogs Earn 2-1 Road Win
October 17, 2017 Bulldogs Earn 2-1 Road Win
Bulldogs Hold Off Britons, 1-0
September 23, 2017 Bulldogs Hold Off Britons, 1-0
Men's Soccer Win Season Opener
September 3, 2017 Men's Soccer Win Season Opener